>Lest I Judge

>

I’ve often wondered; how could Dulce’s mom abandon her at birth and leave her at the hospital? How could so many mothers do that?
Why would a mother I knew leave the hydrocephalic unit of the hospital and take her gravely ill baby home to die when it had a free hospital bed and care?
Why would a mom, to whom we gave milk for her very sick baby, choose to give it instead to her healthy toddler?
Why would a mother allow her eleven year old daughter to sleep with an older man to bring home only one dollar a day?
Why didn’t these mothers exhibit the selfless love we know for our children?
I often shook my head in horror and amazement when I encountered these situations, ones that I could not even comprehend. Yet I have to ask myself; what if?
What if Dulce’s mother was a single mom with other children at home? What if she couldn’t afford to spend months on end at the hospital without seeing those children? What if she had no other family members to care for her family? What if she feared her husband or boyfriend would find another woman while she was away? What if she couldn’t even afford to feed herself while at the hospital?
What if that other mother had already lost a baby and couldn’t not emotional face the prospect of spending endless weeks away from her family to care for a child that would most likely die? What if the pain was too much to bear?
And the mother in the village to whom I gave milk? What if she hardly had money to keep the healthy toddler fed? Maybe she feared losing both children and had to make a choice? What if that choice was to keep the toddler healthy at the expense of the baby?
What about the mother selling her daughter? I will never find an excuse for that one. But….just maybe…maybe she had never been modeled another way of life? What if she also was in bondage to slavery and had nowhere to run to for escape? What if that $1.00 a day was all she had to feed her other children at home?
I will never understand it. But lest I judge, maybe I should walk a mile in the footsteps of these mothers. Maybe I should feel the hurt and hopelessness of living in extreme poverty with no options in sight. Maybe I should imagine the hell of a world without Jesus.
Jesus came to ‘preach good news to the poor’. The Greek word for ‘poor’ is ptochos, indicating ‘utter helplessness, complete destitution, afflicted and distressed’. Jesus doesn’t mean only the financially destitute but also those in seasons of utter helplessness and hopelessness.
Maybe these mothers were ‘poor’ in every sense of the word. They lived in poverty because they didn’t know the hope and comfort that only Christ gives. So out of helplessness and distress they made poor choices.
Moses’ mother was faced with dire circumstances with the knowledge that her baby boy would be killed by Pharaoh’s soldiers. Yet she put her life on the line by hiding him in a basket in the swamps of the Nile River. She had hope in the Lord and he honored her faith.
I may be wrong but I would venture to guess that each of the mothers I’ve talked about did not have a saving faith in Christ. They did not have a hope and a peace that passes all understanding.
So lest I judge, may I remember all the bad choices in my life. And may I be devastated by all the hopeless people without Christ that have crossed my path without me telling or showing them the good news.
About shandaoakley

I am a MK and have lived most of my life in Thirld World Countries. This greatly influences how I think, speak and write. I love my husband of 25 years and my three kids, ages 18, 21 and 21. We recently moved to Southern California and have set up life back in the US. I love my home, friends, animals, teaching and mostly Jesus! I believe life is a choice so I choose joy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

