>The Art of Confrontation

>Isn’t it just like God? I wrote out homework for a four week bible study I am leading, praying each day would touch the women where they are at and while drawing them closer to God’s will for their lives.
One lesson this week dwells on the fact that David was unaware of the sin in his life until confronted by Nathan, God’s ever faithful servant. This situation was major and Nathan, with God’s help, mastered the art of confrontation. I closed the study that day challenging the women to pray about if God wanted them to be a Nathan in someone’s life.
Confrontation is hard and something I avoid at all costs. Although I remain forever grateful to the few Nathan’s in my life who dared to talk to me about some tough issues, I have a hard time extending that same favor to others. I don’t like conflict.
Yet here I sit, having written the study for the other ladies in my group, faced with the realization that God wants me to confront another about the sin in their life. I am fighting it will all my might and hating the fact that God gave me that lesson for myself as much as anyone else.
I haven’t mastered the art of confrontation; in fact, I have very little experience with it. But before I can stand up in front of my ladies next week, I have to obey God in this matter. It leaves me fearing what the rest of the month brings to my plate.
I have studied the scriptures about confronting in love and without passing judgment. I have read how Nathan approached King David with all the wisdom God bestowed upon him. Now I am left with praying for boldness, for faithfulness to obey God, and for the art of confrontation.

About shandaoakley

I am a MK and have lived most of my life in Thirld World Countries. This greatly influences how I think, speak and write. I love my husband of 25 years and my three kids, ages 18, 21 and 21. We recently moved to Southern California and have set up life back in the US. I love my home, friends, animals, teaching and mostly Jesus! I believe life is a choice so I choose joy!
This entry was posted in confrontation, friends. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to >The Art of Confrontation

  1. Nina Bee says:

    >Shanda, I am praying for you with this situation. That God will lead it and provide the wisdom with your words and clarity and grace for the other person. I know that I wish I had people, or even just one single person, along side me to pour love and truth into me when I was making wrong decisions and living in sin. Love you. SOOOO nice spending time with you today! All us "young girls" really respect and appreciate you. You bring something to the table that we need! glean city!

  2. Scooby says:

    >All I can offer are my prayers. I am not good at confrontation either and I have also read some of those scriptures and being that I am new in my relationship with God, to me they are easier read then done. I avoid confrontation like the plague! Maybe we can conquer this together. It is part of the journey. I hope I can overcome it.

  3. Karla says:

    >Shanda, Thanks for visiting my blog. So glad I stopped in at yours. This post is such a blessing to read. Confrontation is a difficult thing specially for women, because we like to hide behind the mask. But just like you said the Lord calls us to do it in love. Thanks for your honesty in the post. I so appreciate the realness in it. Praying that the Lord will lead you and give you wisdom. Many blessings to you in your Bible Study.~Karla

  4. AuDKristi says:

    >So I am left wondering how that divine appointment went with your David. I am realizing the older (wiser?) that I get that I have a more open window to hearing what others have to say to me about what they see from the outside. I certainly hope your conversation was seen as coming from your heart because that is how you roll. A heart felt confrontation is worth its weight in gold for the one that can hear and use the information constructively.

Leave a Reply

